Football Themed Birthday Party

Coehn requested a football themed party for his sixth birthday. So football themed it was! Here is how it turned out:

  1. The Cake  This was only my second attempt at using fondant frosting. I found a great Buttercream Fondant Recipe on Allrecipes that isn’t your typical fondant. It has a great flavor compared to traditional fondant and nearly anyone can do it, just be warned that it is very time consuming! For the white stripes on the field, football, and numbers, I a Wilton Edible Decorations Sugar Sheet that I purchased from Walmart.
  2. Nachos – Nothing reminds me more of stadium food than nachos! I served the nachos with a homemade Nacho Cheese Sauce. The sauce wasn’t exactly what I wanted. Next time I think I will try it with Velveeta instead of sharp cheddar.
  3. Dipped Peanut Butter Sandwich Crackers – This traditional holiday goodie was transformed into the perfect treat for a football themed party using Town House Crackers, peanut butter, and melted chocolate.
  4. Popcorn – Another stadium staple that doesn’t get much easier! I purchased a bag of popcorn and simply poured it into a cardboard popcorn bowl that I purchased from Nobbies  Party Store.
  5. The Invitation – My favorite thing to do when planning a party is designing the invite.
  6. Soft Pretzels – I found this yummy Soft Pretzel Recipe on Pinterest and served it with the same Nacho Cheese Sauce served with the Nachos. However, instead of making the dough from scratch, I used frozen bread dough. They turned out great and took much less time!
  7. Chocolate Covered Strawberries – How cute are these?!?! They went perfectly with our football theme and only took a few minutes to make! To decorate them, I used a sandwich bag, cut a very tiny bit off one of the corners, and squeezed out the white chocolate to make the laces.
  8. Football Lanterns – These lanterns made a great centerpiece! I found them at Nobbies Party Store.

About binspiredblog

Welcome! I am Brandie, a wife, mother, graphic designer, and DIY junkie. Joining me on my adventures are my husband, Dan and our two energetic little boys, Coehn and Lexon. Everyone is always asking me "how did you make that?" So I started this blog as a way to share my projects, motivate myself to continue creating, and hopefully inspire others to do something creative!

Leave a comment